Instrumental and Vocal Items

Applications for outstanding Instrumental and Vocal Items are now closed.

All primary and secondary schools are encouraged to submit outstanding music groups or soloists for inclusion in the 2014 Music Festivals. The item(s) may be vocal or instrumental, small or large - e.g. a soloist, string quartet, concert band, percussion ensemble or vocal group. Successful schools will be allocated one concert only.

2014 Concert Dates

Festival of Instrumental Music 2014, Sydney Opera House

The Acacia Concert: Monday 23 June

The Banksia Concert: Tuesday 24 June

The Jacaranda Concert: Wednesday 25 June

The Mimosa Concert: Thursday 26 June

Festival of Choral Music 2014, Sydney Opera House:

The Argyle Concert: Monday 4 August

The Australis Concert: Tuesday 5 August

The Bennelong Concert: Wednesday 6 August

The Endeavour Concert: Thursday 7 August

Primary Proms 2014, Sydney Town Hall:

The Coorong Concert: Monday 15 September

The Daintree Concert: Tuesday 16 September

The Kakadu Concert: Wednesday 17 September

The Uluru Concert: Thursday 18 September

How to Apply:

Applicants should complete the on-line application form and attach a YouTube audition. 

To download the step-by-step instructions on uploading a video audition to YouTube click here

For further information concerning the 2014 Music Festivals, please contact Ian Jefferson, Student Music Programs Officer (K-8) at The Arts Unit, on 8512 1181 or email concerts.artsunit@det.nsw.edu.au