Year 11 Metro Debating Challenge

The Year 11 Metropolitan Debating Challenge began in 1953 and was named after Karl Cramp - a secondary school inspector for many years and a prominent member of the Royal Australian Historical Society.

It is open to students in Year 11 attending Government schools in Sydney.

The competition is now sponsored by the School of Law at the University of Western Sydney. All teams that enter take part in a round robin and one of the topics at this level will be on a legal issue. Similar topics will also be used in later rounds of the competition.

In addition, the student judged as best speaker at the State final is awarded the EG Whitlam Trophy. 

2014 Topic Areas and Completion Dates

Round / completion date

Topic area

Round 1 to be completed by Friday 9 May (end Wk2 T2)


Round 2 to be completed by Friday 30 May (end Wk5 T2)


Round 3 to be completed by Friday 20 June (end Wk8 T2)


Zone winners to be finalised by Friday 18 July (end Wk1 T3)


Regional finals to be held on Friday 1 August and Monday 4 August


Semi-finals to be held at UWS Parramatta on Friday 22 August


State final to be held at UWS Parramatta on Friday 5 September, 11.30am





Sydney Girls High Winning Team

Congratulations to Sydney Girls High School, who defeated North Sydney Boys High School to win the 2013 Premier's Debating Challenge for Year 11.

Members of the 2013 Winning Team  (Left to Right- Ji Yoon Chung, Eugenie Song, Rebecca Kriesler, Theodora Von Arnim- winner of the E G Whitlam Trophy)

Enquiries should be directed to Lloyd Cameron, Speaking Competitions Coordinator at The Arts Unit on 02 8512 1172.

Past Winners of the Year 11 Debating Challenge