Years 5&6 Debating Challenge

This event originated as a challenge issued by the primary school debating champion from the Hunter Region to other regional winners. All ten regional winners meet at a three day camp for a series of debates to determine the state champion school. In the initial stages of this competition over a thousand schools and five thousand students throughout NSW participate.

Topic Areas and Completion Dates

Round / completion date

Topic area

Round 1 to be completed by the end of Week 4 Term 2


Round 2 to be completed by the end of Week 6 Term 2

The media

Round 3 to be completed by the end of Week 9 Term 2

Australian society

Round 4 to be completed by the end of Week 2 Term 3

Health & fitness

Round 5 (if needed) to be completed by Week 3 Term 3


Zone winners to be finalised by the end of Week 3 Term 3


Regional finals to take place in Term 3


Championships to take place from 9 to 12 November, Stanwell Tops




The 2013 Championships took place at Stanwell Tops from Sunday 10 - Wednesday 13 November.  

The winning team from Woollahra Public School is pictured below.

Wollahra Public winning team

L-R: Rosy Gilliatt, Sarah Lovelady, Zoe Gross, Harris Ledvinka, Anna-Sophia Zahar

Teams that competed are listed below:

Region Champion School
Sydney Woollahra Public School
Northern Sydney Mona Vale Public School
South Western Sydney St Andrews Public School
Western Sydney Jasper Road Public School
Hunter/Central Coast Jewells  Public School
New England Armidale City Public School
North Coast Narranga Public School
Riverina Deniliquin North Public School
Illawarra & South East Illaroo Road Public School
Western NSW Bathurst Public School

Enquiries should be directed to Lloyd Cameron, Speaking Competitions Coordinator at The Arts Unit on 02 8512 1172

A list of previous winners of the Years 5&6 Premier's Debating Challenge is available here